Skip to product information
1 of 1

Catalogue ›Office Riot‹ | Lachenmann Art

Catalogue ›Office Riot‹ | Lachenmann Art

Catalogue ›Office Riot‹ | Lachenmann Art

Year: 2018

Dimensions: 24 cm x 17 cm x

Pages: 321

€ 14.01 EUR net price

Regular price €15,00
Regular price Sale price €15,00
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Catalogue for the group exhibition ›Office Riot‹, which took place from January 20 to March 2, 2018 at the Lachenmann Art Gallery in Konstanz and from September 7 to November 9, 2018 at the Lachenmann Art Gallery in Frankfurt. Texts by Jim Herman, Drew Beattie, Ben Shepard and the Lachenmann Art Team.

With selected works by Drew Beattie & Ben Shepard.

"Office ['äf-,'ôfis ], English for office, study, writing room.

Riot ['rīƏt], English for uprising, unrest, rebellion, riot, chaos, chaos.

The artist duo Drew Beattie and Ben Shepard met at the University of Chicago in 2004. In 2013 they decided to work together, the results of which were exhibited for the first time two years later under the name ›DBBS‹. Ben Shepard sums it up with the words ›The elective affinities worked out right, and we gave birth to a creative force. Call it DBBS.‹

We gave birth to a creative force. Call it DBBS.

Drew Beattie was born in Atlanta, Georgia in 1952 and his works can be found in numerous international art museums. Since the 1970s he has taught at some of the best universities in the United States, including Harvard, Berkley and the University of California. Most recently, he has been a "Distinguished Lecturer" at Hunter College in New York since 2011. Ben Shepard, born in 1984, studied philosophy at the University of Chicago. He is currently working on various interdisciplinary projects, such as a university shared apartment that represents free, interdisciplinary teaching. He commutes between Shanghai and New York. More than 250 works by the DBBS duo will be on display at Lachenmann Art. Due to the large number of colorful acrylic works, the tour through the exhibition rooms turns into an almost overwhelming art experience. The works of the two artists are being shown exclusively at Lachenmann Art for the first time in Germany. The exhibited works all have the same dimensions (24 x 18 inches / 61 x 45.7 cm). Most of the works are in portrait format, a few are presented in landscape format. In terms of content, they consciously oscillate between figuration and abstraction and use a wide range of colors. Each work is self-contained and can be viewed individually, but its impact is multiplied by the unusual hanging and the unprecedented number of paper works presented simultaneously. The duo's impulsive dynamism can be felt everywhere. In addition to abstract and figurative elements, the sheets also contain literary elements and deal with political, historical and philosophical themes, as well as individual memories of the artists themselves.

A paper seems like a thought

Many artists use paper as a medium for preliminary sketches. For DBBS, who have also created large canvas works, the choice of paper as a background is a conscious decision that is intended to embody the fleetingness of thoughts, as Drew Beattie explains in an interview: ›A paper seems like a thought‹. A special feature is the joint creation of the works, the actual act of creating the individual sheets in collaboration between the two artists. During the work process, the sheets are horizontal, which gives the artists a bird's eye view and thus a holistic overview. The starting point for this act of creation is the intensive exchange of ideas on striking topics that are also questioned philosophically. They then devote themselves intensively to analyzing the choice of color and mix an average of seven to ten colors per sheet, which support the subject of the work and give it an individual impact.

In the New York art scene, the German artists Sigmar Polke (1941-2010) and Martin Kippenberger (1953-1997) are considered to be important post-war artists with a great influence on the contemporary American art that followed. Numerous elements and references from these and other artists, such as Jonathan Meese (*1970), can be found in the works of the DBBS duo as an inspirational impulse.

The collaboration is like an umbrella of energy. –Drew Beattie

Due to his affinity for the work of the German painters mentioned above, Drew Beattie had a desire to hold an exhibition in Germany years ago. We met Drew during the 2016 Gallery Weekend in Berlin through Alexander Iskin. Our visions for this major project coincided and after several months of planning and preparation, we are happy to finally be able to make this extraordinary exhibition ›Office Riot‹ accessible to the public."

Discover more exhibition catalogues and artist monographs from Lachenmann Art

View full details

Contact form

Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 1

Katalog ›Office Riot‹ | Lachenmann Art

Katalog ›Office Riot‹ | Lachenmann Art

Katalog ›Office Riot‹ | Lachenmann Art

Jahr: 2018

Dimensions: 24 cm x 17 cm x

Seiten: 321

€14,01 EUR net price

Normaler Preis €15,00
Normaler Preis Verkaufspreis €15,00
Sale Ausverkauft
inkl. MwSt. Versand wird beim Checkout berechnet

Katalog zur Gruppenausstellung ›Office Riot‹, die von 20. Januar bis 02. März 2018 in der Galerie Lachenmann Art in Konstanz und von 07. September bis 09. November 2018 in der Galerie Lachenmann Art in Frankfurt stattfand. Texte von Jim Herman, Drew Beattie, Ben Shepard und vom Lachenmann Art Team.

Mit ausgesuchten Arbeiten von Drew Beattie & Ben Shepard.

"Office ['äf-,'ôfis ], engl. für Büro, Arbeitszimmer, Schreibstube.

Riot ['rīƏt], engl. für Aufstand, Unruhe, Rebellion, Ausschreitung, Kuddelmuddel, Tohuwabohu.

Das Künstlerduo Drew Beattie und Ben Shepard lernte sich 2004 an der University of Chicago kennen. 2013 beschlossen sie ihre gemeinsame Zusammenarbeit, deren Ergebnisse zwei Jahre später zum ersten Mal unter dem Namen ›DBBS‹ ausgestellt wurden. Ben Shepard fasst dies zusammen mit den Worten ›The elective affinities worked out right, and we gave birth to a creative force. Call it DBBS.‹ 

     We gave birth to a creative force. Call it DBBS.

Drew Beattie wurde 1952 in Atlanta, Georgia geboren, seine Werke befinden sich in zahlreichen internationalen Kunstmuseen. Seit den Siebzigerjahren lehrt er an einigen der besten Universitäten der Vereinigten Staaten, darunter Harvard, Berkley und der Universität von Kalifornien. Zuletzt ist er seit 2011 als „Distinguished Lecturer“ am Hunter College in New York tätig. Ben Shepard, Jahrgang 1984, studierte Philosophie an der University of Chicago. Er arbeitet zurzeit an verschiedenen interdisziplinären Projekten, so zum Beispiel an einer universitären Wohngemeinschaft, welche eine freie, fächerübergreifende Lehre vertritt. Er pendelt zwischen Shanghai und New York. Mehr als 250 Werke des Duos DBBS werden bei Lachenmann Art zu sehen sein. Auf Grund der Vielzahl der farbintensiven Acrylarbeiten verwandelt sich der Rundgang durch die Ausstellungsräume in ein nahezu überwältigendes Kunst-Erlebnis. Die Arbeiten der beiden Künstler werden bei Lachenmann Art exklusiv zum ersten Mal in Deutschland gezeigt. Die ausgestellten Werke besitzen alle dieselbe Abmessung (24 x 18 inch / 61 x 45,7 cm). Die meisten Arbeiten sind im Hochformat angelegt, einige wenige präsentieren sich als Querformat. Sie oszillieren inhaltlich bewusst zwischen Figuration und Abstraktion und nutzen ein breites Farbspektrum. Jede Arbeit ist in sich abgeschlossen und kann individuell betrachtet werden, die Wirkkraft multipliziert sich jedoch durch die außergewöhnliche Hängung und die beispiellose Anzahl der simultan präsentierten Papierarbeiten. Die impulsive Dynamik des Duos ist allgegenwärtig zu spüren. Die Blätter enthalten neben abstrakten und figürlichen auch literarische Elemente und behandeln politische, historische und philosophische Themen, sowie individuelle Erinnerungen der Künstler selbst.

     A paper seems like a thought

Viele Künstler nutzen das Medium Papier als Trägermaterial für Vorskizzen. Für DBBS, die auch große Leinwandarbeiten erschaffen haben, ist die Wahl des Papiers als Untergrund eine bewusste Entscheidung, welche die Flüchtigkeit der Gedanken verkörpern soll, wie Drew Beattie im Gespräch erzählt: ›A paper seems like a thought‹. Eine Besonderheit stellt das gemeinsame Erschaffen der Werke, der tatsächliche Akt der Schöpfung der einzelnen Blätter in der Kollaboration der beiden Künstler dar. Während des Arbeitsprozesses befinden sich die Blätter in der Horizontalen, was den Künstlern den Blick aus der Vogelperspektive und somit einen ganzheitlichen Überblick ermöglicht. Ausgangspunkt für diesen Akt der Schöpfung ist der intensive gedankliche Austausch zu markanten Themen, die auch philosophisch hinterfragt werden. Daraufhin widmen sie sich intensiv der Analyse der Farbwahl und mischen durchschnittlich sieben bis zehn Farben pro Blatt vor, welche das Sujet der Arbeit unterstützen und eine individuelle Wirkkraft verleihen.

In der New Yorker Kunstszene gelten u.a. die deutschen Künstler Sigmar Polke (1941-2010) und Martin Kippenberger (1953-1997) als bedeutende Nachkriegskünstler mit großem Einfluss auf die danach folgende zeitgenössische amerikanische Kunst. Zahlreiche Versatzstücke und Anknüpfpunkte dieser sowie weiterer Künstler, wie zum Beispiel von Jonathan Meese (*1970), sind in den Werken des Duos DBBS als inspirativer Impuls zu finden.

     The collaboration is like an umbrella of energy. –Drew Beattie

Aufgrund seiner Affinität zum Werk oben genannter deutschen Maler war in Drew Beattie bereits vor Jahren der Wunsch erwacht, in Deutschland eine Ausstellung zu realisieren. Wir lernten Drew während des Gallery Weekends 2016 in Berlin über Alexander Iskin kennen. Die Visionen dieses Großprojektes stimmten überein und nach mehrmonatiger Planung und Vorbereitung sind wir glücklich, diese außergewöhnliche Ausstellung ›Office Riot‹ nun endlich der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich machen zu können."

 

Entdecken Sie weitere Ausstellungskataloge und Künstlermonografien von Lachenmann Art

 

Vollständige Details anzeigen

Contact form