Skip to product information
1 of 11

›ICONICA‹ 07/06/2018 — 14/07/2018

›ICONICA‹ 07/06/2018 — 14/07/2018

  • Lars Teichmann

 

Frankfurt 07/06/2018 — 14/07/2018

On Thursday, June 7th at 6 p.m., the Lachenmann Art gallery will open its first branch in Frankfurt am Main. Since its opening in October 2014, the gallery for contemporary art has presented award-winning, international and museum artists at its location in Konstanz and at international art fairs.

The new premises in a former paper shop in downtown Frankfurt captivate with their industrial charm. The team around gallery owner and art historian Juliane Lachenmann and her husband Steffen Lachenmann are opening what will be the city's largest commercial gallery in terms of area, with an exhibition area of ​​600 m2.

The artistic opening is by Berlin artist Lars Teichmann (born 1980 in Burgstädt) with his solo show ›ICONICA‹. The two-storey exhibition area is filled with the painter's mostly large-format canvas works, whose works are charged with quotations from the art historical past. His motifs are inspired by French salon painting of the 19th century as well as by baroque and classicist portraits.

Lars Teichmann studied fine arts under Prof. Daniel Richter at the Berlin University of the Arts from 2002 to 2008 and was a master student under Prof. Valérie Favre in 2006. In 2011 his works were shown at the 54th Venice Biennale, and his works are also represented in high-ranking private and public European collections, such as the Benetton Collection Italy, the Museum of Concrete Art in Ingolstadt and the art collection of the Kunstpalais Erlangen.

In recent years, Lars Teichmann's work has focused on the game of blurring the boundaries between figuration and abstraction. The method of abstraction used in many of his series is particularly noteworthy: faces, hands and feet are depicted only in outline - if at all - or have to be completed in the viewer's mind's eye.

The exhibition brings together works from different periods of creation: faceless, highly abstracted figures are juxtaposed with clear portraits from a new series, also charged with art historical quotations.

The solo exhibition is complemented by a video work by the artist, which enables new levels of reception, both auditory and visual.

View full details

Do you have any questions? Write to us!

Zu Produktinformationen springen
1 von 11

›ICONICA‹ 07/06/2018 — 14/07/2018

›ICONICA‹ 07/06/2018 — 14/07/2018

  • Lars Teichmann

 

Frankfurt  07/06/2018 — 14/07/2018

Am Donnerstag, den 7. Juni um 18 Uhr eröffnet die Galerie Lachenmann Art ihre erste Dependance in Frankfurt am Main. Die Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst präsentiert seit ihrer Eröffnung im Oktober 2014 preisgekrönte, internationale und museale Künstler an ihrem Standort in Konstanz sowie auf internationalen Kunstmessen.

Die neuen Räumlichkeiten in einer ehemaligen Papierhandlung in der Frankfurter Innenstadt bestechen durch industriellen Charme. Auf 600 m2 Ausstellungsfläche eröffnet das Team um die Galeristin und Kunsthistorikerin Juliane Lachenmann und ihrem Mann Steffen Lachenmann die dann flächenmäßig größte kommerzielle Galerie der Stadt.

Den künstlerischen Auftakt macht der Berliner Künstler Lars Teichmann (geboren 1980 in Burgstädt) mit seiner Soloshow ›ICONICA‹. Die zweigeschossige Ausstellungsfläche wird von den meist großformatigen Leinwandarbeiten des Malers bespielt, dessen Werke mit Zitaten der kunsthistorischen Vergangenheit aufgeladen sind. Seine Motive sind durch die französische Salonmalerei des 19. Jahrhunderts sowie durch barocke und klassizistische Porträts inspiriert.

Lars Teichmann studierte von 2002 bis 2008 Bildende Kunst bei Prof. Daniel Richter an der Universität der Künste Berlin und war 2006 Meisterschüler bei Prof. Valérie Favre. 2011 wurden seine Arbeiten auf der 54. Biennale di Venezia gezeigt, des Weiteren sind seine Werke in hochrangigen privaten und öffentlichen europäischen Sammlungen vertreten, etwa in der Benetton Collection Italien, dem Museum für Konkrete Kunst Ingolstadt oder der Kunstsammlung des Kunstpalais Erlangen.

In den vergangenen Jahren beschäftigte sich Lars Teichmann in seinen Arbeiten mit dem Spiel der Grenzverwischung von Figürlichkeit und Abstraktion. Hervorzuheben ist die in vielen seiner Serien eingesetzte Methode der Abstraktion: Gesichter, Hände und Füße sind -wenn überhaupt- nur schemenhaft abgebildet bzw. müssen vor dem geistigen Auge des Betrachters vervollständigt werden.

In der Ausstellung treffen Werke verschiedener Entstehungszeiten aufeinander: gesichtslose, stark abstrahierte Figuren stehen klaren Portraits einer neuen Serie, ebenfalls aufgeladen mit kunsthistorischen Zitaten, gegenüber.

Ergänzt wird die Einzelausstellung durch eine Videoarbeit des Künstlers, die auditiv und visuell neue Ebenen der Rezeption ermöglicht.

Vollständige Details anzeigen

Hast Du Fragen? Schreib uns!